ILTA Webinar On Enterprise Search For Smaller Firms

20 Mar

Post by ILTA KM Blogmaster David Hobbie

A webinar in one week will address a cheap and effective approach to enterprise search, the “killer app” of legal knowledge management. ILTA KM surveys and my own experience confirms that this remarkable tool is moving “down-market,” i.e., to smaller firms.

Title:  Kick-Starting KM with Quick-Start Search

Date & Time:  Wednesday, March 27, 2013 at  7:00 p.m. GMT / 2:00 p.m. EDT / 1:00 p.m. CDT/
12:00 p.m. MDT / 11:00 a.m. PDT.

REGISTER online here; no cost for ILTA members

Formal Description:
KM is no longer the purview of large firms. KM can be a competitive tool, and smaller firms want in! But how can a smaller firm, without significant KM resources, kick-start a KM program and score a major win with the firm’s attorneys?

Smaller firms looking to take advantage of the benefits of KM can use enterprise search as the centerpiece of their KM strategy. You could be up and running fairly quickly, and see a high return on your investment. Your attorneys will love it, and you’ll establish enough “credit” to push for other KM initiatives.

Advancements in KM technology point to closer collaboration between CIOs and KM professionals. Come hear Lowenstein’s CIO, Christopher Zegers, and KM Director, Kitty Schweyer, discuss their unique approach to KM in a smaller firm and how they kick-started their KM program with the implementation of a popular enterprise search solution.”

Speakers:

Shy Alter is the founder of ii3, where he provides vision and direction to both ii3 and ii3’s clients. Shy also regularly works with ii3’s teams to develop practical solutions to complex knowledge and information management challenges. He helps his clients address their highly competitive and continually changing business environment. Shy is a KM pioneer who speaks regularly on the strategic impact of knowledge management and is recognized as a thought leader in this area. Contact him at salter@ii3.com.

Kathlyn Schweyer has 17 years of experience in the information and knowledge management field. Kitty is currently the Director of Knowledge and Research Services at Lowenstein Sandler and is in charge of the firm’s knowledge activities. Previously, she served as the manager of competitive intelligence at White & Case in New York and as the library manager at Goodwin Procter in Boston, where she was heavily involved in their knowledge management initiatives. Contact her at kschweyer@lowenstein.com.

Christopher Zegers has been solving problems for law firms since 1997. From bringing the Internet to desktops and bringing desktops to iPads, he has guided attorneys through the endless technical changes required to keep firms competitive. Chris has built out new offices and data centers, and has introduced knowledge management and practice support departments to law firms that traditionally grouped these services with IT. He is currently the Chief Information Officer for Lowenstein Sandler. Contact him at czegers@lowenstein.com.

Questions?  Contact Kristy Costello at kristina@iltanet.org or (512) 795-4674

Advertisements

One Response to “ILTA Webinar On Enterprise Search For Smaller Firms”

  1. iltablog September 24, 2013 at 12:01 pm #

    You can view the webinar recording at: http://www.iltanet.org/MainMenuCategory/Recordings/Webinars/WEB-KM-032713-1568173.html

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: