Starting a Knowledge Management Program at Your Firm

31 May

Join ILTA KM for a free webinar on Tuesday, June 5, 2012 at 4 p.m. GMT/ 12 p.m. EST / 11:00 a.m. CST / 10:00 a.m. MST / 9:00 a.m. PST.

Three experienced knowledge management thought leaders will discuss how to start (or revitalize) a KM program at your law firm. They’ll explore reasons to start a KM program, how to learn about your firm and its personality, and what first steps to take.

There will also be a question and answer period. You can ask questions or make comments before and during the webinar using Twitter — just use the #StartingKM and/or #ILTAKM hashtag. Feel free to tweet our panelists directly: John Gillies (@JohnGillies), Jeffrey Rovner (@JeffRovner), Rachelle Rennagel (@Irshal). You may also tweet our moderator, Patrick DiDomenico (@LawyerKM).

Speakers:

John Gillies is the Director of Practice Support at Cassels Brock & Blackwell in Toronto. He collaborates with all firm members to enhance the culture of knowledge-sharing through building appropriate organizational and technical structures. John has spoken at numerous Canadian and American conferences and has published articles and blog postings on knowledge management and legal drafting issues. He can be reached at jgillies@casselsbrock.com or on Twitter @JohnGillies.

Rachelle Rennagel is the Director of Legal Services at Patterson Belknap Webb & Tyler. She oversees the firm’s practice support, paralegal, library and managing clerk’s offices, and is responsible for the firm’s knowledge management initiatives. This role calls on her technology skills, and — as a former practicing attorney — she acts as an intermediary between the firm’s attorneys and its IT organization. Rachelle is currently ILTA’s Conference Vice President. She can be reached at rrennagel@pbwt.com or on Twitter @Irshal.

Jeff Rovner is the Managing Director for Information at O’Melveny & Myers LLP, where he directs all of the firm’s technology, information and knowledge management functions. In 2006, London’s “Citytech Magazine” included Jeff on its “Global Tech Leaders Top 100.” Jeff is a frequent speaker on the topics of information technology and knowledge management, and is currently teaching those subjects as an adjunct professor in the George Washington University Master’s Program in Law Firm Management. He can be reached at jrovner@omm.com or on Twitter @JeffRovner.

Patrick DiDomenico is the Director of Knowledge Management at Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart, P.C. in New York. He leads the firm’s efforts to help lawyers work more efficiently and effectively to create value for its clients. Patrick is a frequent speaker on knowledge management, social media and legal technology. He is a member of the ILTA Conference Committee and the ILTA Knowledge Management Peer Group Steering Committee. He can be reached at patrick.didomenico@ogletreedeakins.com or on Twitter @LawyerKM.

REGISTER online here.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: